Curriculum Vitae

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Ehrenfried Zschech


Short bio:

Ehrenfried Zschech is a consultant with hands-on experience in academia and industry. He is providing support along the whole supply and innovation chain, particularly in the fields of advanced materials, nanotechnology and microelectronics as well as process control and quality assessment. He holds an adjunct professorship at Faculty of Chemistry of Warsaw University, Poland, as well as honorary professorships for Nanomaterials at Brandenburg University of Technology and for Nanoanalysis at Dresden University of Technology. He has published three books and he has authored or co-authored more than 300 papers in peer-reviewed journals in the areas of solid-state physics, materials characterization and reliability engineering. Ehrenfried Zschech is Member of the European Academy of Science (EurASc) and Member of the of the German National Academy of Science and Engineering (ACATECH). In 2019, he was awarded with the FEMS European Materials Gold Medal.

Ehrenfried Zschech received his Dr. rer. nat. degree from Dresden University of Technology. After having spent four years as a project leader in the field of metal physics and reliability of microelectronic interconnects at Research Institute for Nonferrous Metals in Freiberg, he was appointed as a university teacher for ceramic materials at Freiberg University of Technology. In 1992, he joined the development department at Airbus in Bremen, where he managed the metal physics group and studied the laser-welding metallurgy of aluminum alloys. From 1997 to 2009, Ehrenfried Zschech managed the Materials Analysis Department and the Center for Complex Analysis at Advanced Micro Devices in Dresden. In this position, he was responsible for the analytical support for process control and technology development in leading-edge semiconductor manufacturing, as well as for physical failure analysis. Ehrenfried Zschech was Department Head at the Fraunhofer Institutes IZFP and IKTS and Head of the Steering Committee of the Dresden Fraunhofer Cluster Nanoanalysis from 2009 to 2021. His responsibilities included multi-scale materials characterization and reliability engineering. From 2021 to 2023, he was acting as CTO and Co-Founder of deepXscan GmbH, Dresden, Germany. This start-up company developed and commercialized high-resolution X-ray imaging systems and provided customized solutions for a broad range of applications.

Work Experience and Scientific Carrier

Jan 24 – today

July 21 – Dec 23
Chief Technology Officer (CTO) at deepXscan GmbH, Dresden

Jan 14 – June 21
Department Head Microelectronic Materials and Nanoanalysis at Fraunhofer Institute for Ceramic Technologies and Systems, Dresden, Head of the Steering Committee of the Dresden Fraunhofer Cluster Nanoanalysis

Aug 09 – Dec 13
Department Head Nanoanalysis and Testing at Fraunhofer Institute for Nondestructive Testing, Dresden, Head of the Steering Committee of the Dresden Fraunhofer Cluster Nanoanalysis

April 97 – July 09
Sr. Manager of the Center for Complex Analysis at AMD Saxony LLC & Co. KG/GLOBALFOUNDRIES Fab One LLC & Co. KG, Dresden, 9 month working stay at AMD Inc. in Austin/TX and Sunnyvale/CA (US)

Oct 92 – March 97
Section Manager Metal Physics in the Development Department at Airbus GmbH, Bremen

Feb 89 – Sep 92
Assistant Professor for Inorganic Nonmetallic Materials at TU Bergakademie, Freiberg

Mar 85 – Jan 89
Head of the X-Ray Diffraction Analysis Lab and Project Lead in the Metal Physics Department at the Research Institute of Non-Ferrous Metals, Freiberg

Sep 79 – Feb 85
Research Associate in the Division of Metal- and X-Ray Physics at TU Dresden, 6 month post-graduate research at the Synchrotron Radiation Center of the Institute of Nuclear Physics in Novosibirsk (Russia)